It is no secret that we have a fondness for Sugar House. Its rich history coupled with the area’s current vibe, and thriving communities, make the Sugar House neighborhoods quaint, welcoming and full of opportunity.
Sugar House was established in 1853, six years after the Mormon pioneers settled in the valley, making it among Salt Lake City’s oldest neighborhoods. Today, the tree-lined streets and character filled bungalows make walking the best way to experience all that Sugar House has to offer.
Situated west of the mouth of Parleys Canyon and the area southeast of Salt Lake City, Sugar House is located from 1700 South to 2700 South and 700 East to 2000 East. Sprawling retail developments, eateries and mountain views are just a few of the treasures found here.
Sugar House was aptly named in reference to the sugar beet test factory owned by the Deseret Manufacturing Company in the area. The name came about as a suggestion by Margaret McMeans Smoot, the wife of the then mayor of Salt Lake City, Abraham O. Smoot.
Sugar House was the home of Utah’s first state prison for nearly a century, operated by the federal government until Utah gained statehood in 1896. Today, the spacious Sugar House Park and Highland High School, occupy the space after a decade long campaign run by businessman Horace Sorensen to turn it into a park. The Legislature passed the statute to create a state park from the old prison site in 1947. The prison was then moved to the point of the mountain in Draper in 1951.
Today, Sugar House is booming with local businesses, restaurants and shopping and has become one of the state’s most desirable locations. We admire it so much, we had an artist recreate this historical scene on our building, we think it turned out amazing!